CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

AVAILABLE FOR COMMENT: CAP’s Melanie Hart on China’s 18th Communist Party Congress, New Leadership, Challenges, and Potential Reform

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Christina DiPasquale
Phone: 202.481.8181
Email: cdipasquale@americanprogress.org

Washington, D.C. — As the Communist Party’s 18th Congress begins today in China, Center for American Progress Policy Analyst Melanie Hart will be available for comment on the outgoing leadership, new leadership, economic and social challenges, and potential reform. Dr. Hart has recently returned from an information-gathering trip in the country and has authored the recent Center for American Progress report “China’s Real Leadership Question,” which explains the major players and factors in China’s upcoming political transition and describes the numerous challenges the country faces during this transition and well into the future.

CAP series on China’s leadership transition:

See also:

To speak with Melanie Hart, please contact Christina DiPasquale at 202.481.8181 or cdipasquale@americanprogress.org.

###

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org