CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

ADVISORY: Lawrence Summers on the Fiscal Cliff and the Future of U.S. Economic Strategy

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Katie Peters
Phone: 202.741.6285
Email: kpeters@americanprogress.org

Washington, D.C.—On Thursday, October 11, former National Economic Council Director Lawrence Summers will deliver a speech laying out his vision for a long-term U.S. economic strategy.  Following the address, Professor Summers will sit down with CAP President Neera Tanden for a conversation on the looming year-end clash of spending cuts and tax hikes known as the “fiscal cliff.”

Summers and Tanden will discuss how lawmakers must not only come together to avoid the fiscal cliff, but even more crucially they must focus on a long-term economic strategy that ensures U.S. global competitiveness while responsibly addressing challenges such as rising inequality and educational achievement gaps.

WHO:

Featured Speaker:
Lawrence H. Summers, Charles W. Eliot University Professor, Harvard Kennedy School of Government; National Economic Council Director, 2009-2010; Secretary of the Treasury, 1999-2001

Moderated by:
Neera Tanden, President, Center for American Progress

WHEN:
October 11, 2012, 1:30pm – 2:30pm

WHERE:
Center for American Progress
1333 H St. NW, 10th Floor
Washington, DC20005

RSVP
To confirm your attendance, please contact Katie Peters at kpeters@americanprogress.org or 202.741.6285.

###

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org