CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

ADVISORY: After Aurora: Dispelling the Myth of NRA Power

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Katie Peters
Phone: 202.741.6285
Email: kpeters@americanprogress.org

RSVP for this event.

Washington, D.C. — Tomorrow, as details continue to emerge about the tragic shooting rampage in Aurora, Colorado, that killed 12 people and wounded another 58, the Center for American Progress will host a discussion to examine myths about the National Rifle Association’s political influence, making the case for why politicians should feel empowered to take action now to prevent future tragedies.

At the event, a panel of experts will discuss the gun lobby’s setbacks since the death of Trayvon Martin, release findings from a first-of-its-kind data analysis showing that the NRA’s influence is rarely significant in any election, and unveil a new survey by GOP pollster Frank Luntz showing that NRA members overwhelmingly support the commonsense gun laws the group’s Washington leaders oppose.

WHO:

Panelists:
Mark Glaze, Director, Mayors Against Illegal Guns
Lowell Baker
, President, Luntz Global LLC
Paul Waldman, Contributing Editor, The American Prospect

Moderated by:
Winnie Stachelberg, Executive Vice President for External Affairs, Center for American Progress

WHEN:

TOMORROW – Tuesday, July 24, 2012
2:00 p.m. – 3:00 p.m.

WHERE:

Center for American Progress
1333 H St. NW, 10th Floor
Washington, D.C. 20005

RSVP:
Click here to confirm your attendance.

For more information, contact Katie Peters at kpeters@americanprogress.org or 202.741.6285.


Related Resources from ThinkProgress:

###

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org