CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

ADVISORY: Director of National Drug Control Policy to Deliver Speech on New Drug Policy Strategy

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Christina DiPasquale
Phone: 202.481.8181
Email: cdipasquale@americanprogress.org

Washington, D.C.Tomorrow, Gil Kerlikowske, Director of National Drug Control Policy and President Obama’s top drug policy advisor will deliver remarks at the Center for American Progress on the release of President Obama’s National Drug Control Strategy.

Over the past thirty years, the rate of Americans using illicit drugs has dropped by roughly one third. More recently, there has been a 40 percent drop in current cocaine use and current meth use has dropped by half. To build on this progress the Obama Administration has requested over $10 billion to support drug education programs and support for expanding access to drug treatment for people suffering from substance use disorders.

WHO:

Featured speaker:
Gil Kerlikowske, Director, Office of National Drug Control Policy

Introductory remarks:
Neera Tanden, President, Center for American Progress

WHEN:

Tuesday, May 1st, 10:00 a.m. – 11:00 a.m.

Coffee will be served at 9:30 a.m.

WHERE:

Center for American Progress
1333 H St. NW, 10th Floor
Washington, DC 20005

Map & Directions
Nearest Metro: Blue/Orange Line to McPherson Square or Red Line to Metro Center

RSVP:

RSVP for this event

For more information, contact Christina DiPasquale 202.481.8181 or cdipasquale@americanprogress.org.

### 

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org