CAP en EspaƱol
Small CAP Banner

ADVISORY: Gov. Malloy to Discuss National Movement for Paid Sick Days Laws

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Katie Peters
Phone: 202.741.6285
Email: kpeters@americanprogress.org

Washington D.C.—On Friday, Connecticut Gov. Dan Malloy will join the Center for American Progress and the National Partnership for Women & Families for a discussion on the growing momentum for paid sick days laws. Paid sick days provide a critical workplace standard that promotes the economic security of U.S. workers and their families and safeguards the health of our communities.

Gov. Malloy, who championed and signed the nation’s first statewide paid sick days law, will be joined by Seattle City Council Member Nick Licata, the champion of the paid sick days ordinance that recently made Seattle the third U.S. city with a paid sick days standard, and local restaurant owner Andy Shallal, who provides paid sick days to his employees.


WHO:

Featured speakers:
Gov. Dan Malloy
, (D-CT)
Nick Licata
, Seattle City Council Member
Andy Shallal, Founder, Busboys and Poets

Moderated by:
John Podesta
, President and Chief Executive Officer, Center for American Progress


WHEN:


Friday, October 21, 2011
9:30 a.m. – 11:00 a.m.
Coffee will be served at 9:00 a.m.


RSVP:

Click here to RSVP for this event


Location:

Center for American Progress
1333 H St. NW, 10th Floor
Washington, D.C. 20005
Map & Directions

Nearest metro:

Blue/Orange Line to McPherson Square or Red Line to Metro Center

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org