CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

PRESS CALL ADVISORY: Legal and Policy Experts Discuss 11th Circuit Multistate Health Care Suit

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Madeline Meth
Phone: 202.741.6277
Email: mmeth@americanprogress.org

Washington, D.C.On June 8, the 11th Circuit Court of Appeals will hear oral arguments in Atlanta, Georgia challenging Florida District Judge Roger Vinson’s ruling that voided the Affordable Care Act. The three judge panel will hear arguments starting at 9:30 a.m. for two hours.

Please join former Wisconsin Gov. Jim Doyle, former United States Solicitor General Walter Dellinger, who will be in Atlanta, Georgia to hear the arguments, and CAP Chief Operating Officer Neera Tanden for immediate feedback on the strength of the arguments and the Court’s reaction.

For additional information about Judge Vinson’s opinion, view Center for American Progress’s interactive assessment here and Si Lazarus’ issue brief for the American Constitution Society here. To learn more about what to expect from the 11th Circuit, read Ian Millhiser’s post here.

What: Press call to discuss oral arguments before the 11th Circuit Court of Appeals on the constitutionality of the Affordable Care Act

Who:

Walter Dellinger, Former U.S. Solicitor General and Chair of the Appellate Practice at O’Melveny & Meyers

Neera Tanden, Chief Operating Officer for the Center for American Progress and former senior advisor for Health and Human Services

When: Wednesday, June 8 at 1:00 P.M.

Call info: (877) 210-8943 begin_of_the_skype_highlighting            (877) 210-8943      end_of_the_skype_highlighting

Conference ID: 74149860

 **Note this call will be recorded. By dialing into this call you consent to be recorded**

###

 

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org