CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

PRESS CALL ADVISORY: Realignment–Managing a Stable Transition to Afghan Responsibility

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Madeline Meth
Phone: 202.741.6277
Email: mmeth@americanprogress.org

Listen to the call here.

Washington, D.C.—In a new report on Afghanistan strategy to be released Tuesday, November 23, the Center for American Progress argues that current U.S. efforts in Afghanistan are fundamentally out of balance and are neither advancing U.S. interests nor ensuring a durable peace in Afghanistan and Pakistan or the region. The report calls on the Obama administration to use the upcoming year-end policy review to realign its current efforts in Afghanistan to focus on building an inclusive settlement to the country’s conflict and developing a self-sustaining Afghan state as it transitions U.S. forces out of Afghanistan. It also outlines four key priorities for the U.S. strategy:

  1. The creation of a political reform agenda for the Kabul government and the imposition of clear conditions if that agenda is not implemented
  2. The facilitation of inclusive internal peace talks
  3. An increase in international diplomatic outreach among Afghanistan neighbors
  4. A reduction of the U.S. military footprint and its realignment with the broader political agenda

What: A press call to discuss the current U.S. efforts in Afghanistan.

Who:

Caroline Wadhams, Director for South Asia Security Studies, Center for American Progress

Collin Cookman, Research Assistant, Center for American Progress

When: (Note time change) Tuesday, November 23, 2010 at ***9:00 A.M. EST***

To RSVP to the call, please contact Anna Soellner at 202.478.5322 or via email at asoellner@americanprogress.org.

**Please note, this call will be recorded. By participating in the call, you consent to be recorded.**

###

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education, poverty)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, health care, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, Legal Progress, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi (immigration, race and ethnicity)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org