CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

PRESS CALL ADVISORY: The Power of the President—Recommendations to Advance Progressive Change

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Madeline Meth
Phone: 202.741.6277
Email: mmeth@americanprogress.org

Washington, D.C.—November’s midterm election aftermath has caused both pundits and politicians to predict overwhelming deadlock and stalemate in the upcoming 112th Congress that will prevent President Barack Obama from advancing his policy priorities. Additionally, there is an ongoing debate as to whether Obama’s administration should move to the left or to the center and compromise with the new House leadership.

Despite all this banter and politics, the U.S. Constitution and the laws of our nation grant the president significant authority to create and implement policy. This is an opportunity for President Obama to demonstrate strength, resilience, and a capacity to get things done in order to improve our nation. The following authorities can be used to ensure progress on key issues facing the country today:

  • Executive orders
  • Rulemaking
  • Agency management
  • Convening and creating public-private partnerships
  • Commanding the armed forces
  • Diplomacy

Join the Center for American Progress in a press call to discuss the grave importance of using executive orders and other authorities to take our nation forward on the issues of energy, the economy, healthcare, education, foreign policy, and national security.

What: A press call to discuss how concentrating on executive powers presents an opportunity for the Obama administration to deliver results for the American people on issues that matter most to them

Who:

John D. Podesta, President and Chief Executive Officer, Center for American Progress

Neera Tanden, Chief Operating Officer, Center for American Progress

Sarah R. Wartell, Executive Vice President, Center for American Progress

When: Tuesday, November 16, 2010 at 2:00 p.m. EST

Call info: 877.210.8943

Conference ID: 25694609

To RSVP to the call, please contact Anna Soellner at 202.492.2967 or via email at asoellner@americanprogress.org.

**Please note that this call will be recorded. By participating in the call, you consent to be recorded.**

###

 

 

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org