CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

ADVISORY: Sen. Merkley on Solving Our Oil Vulnerability

June 14, 2010, 9:30am – 11:00am

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Madeline Meth
Phone: 202.741.6277
Email: mmeth@americanprogress.org

Washington, D.C. – Our dependence on oil is not sustainable. The United States has only 2 percent of the world’s oil reserves, yet we use one-quarter of the oil produced annually. One in five barrels of U.S. oil comes from countries that the State Department considers to be "dangerous or unstable." The BP oil disaster is a tragic reminder of the human, economic, and environmental costs of oil dependence. And growing worldwide oil demand—led by China—will put additional upward pressure on oil prices. The United States needs comprehensive clean energy and climate policies that would decrease our dependence on this expensive and unstable commodity.

Introduction by:
Winnie Stachelberg, Senior Vice President for External Affairs, Center for American Progress

Keynote Speaker:
Senator Jeff Merkley (D-OR)

Featured Speakers:
James Barrett, Chief Economist, Clean Energy Development Center
Sherri Goodman, Senior Vice President, General Counsel and Corporate Secretary, CNA
Jerome Ringo, Senior Executive for Global Strategies, Green Port

Moderated by:
Daniel J. Weiss, Senior Fellow and Director of Climate Strategy, Center for American Progress Action Fund

Coffee will be served at 9:00 a.m.

RSVP

If you are a member of the press and would like to attend this event, please contact Suzi Emmerling at semmerling@americanprogress.org or 202-481-8224.

Location

Center for American Progress
1333 H St. NW, 10th Floor
Washington, DC 20005

Map & Directions
Nearest Metro: Blue/Orange Line to McPherson Square or Red Line to Metro Center

###

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education, poverty)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, health care, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, Legal Progress, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi (immigration, race and ethnicity)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org