CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

ADVISORY: The Role of the United States in Combating Human Trafficking

May 12, 2010, 9:00am – 10:30am

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Madeline Meth
Phone: 202.741.6277
Email: mmeth@americanprogress.org

WASHINGTON, D.C. The International Labor Organization estimates at least 12.3 million adults and children are victims of forced labor, bonded labor, and commercial sexual servitude at any given moment. The Trafficking Victims Protection Act of 2000 established the Office to Monitor and Combat Trafficking in Persons at the State Department to combat these forms of modern slavery. The TVPA requires an annual assessment of “severe forms of trafficking in persons” and governments’ efforts to assess them.

The 2010 report will be released in June and ranks the United States for the first time. Please join us for a keynote address by Luis CdeBaca, ambassador-at-large for the Office to Monitor and Combat Trafficking in Persons, who will preview the forthcoming report. The keynote will be followed by a discussion from a panel of experts who will address a range of issues including the report’s implications for both domestic and foreign policy and to what extent this issue is part of the State Department’s “Smart Power” approach to foreign policy.

Introduction:
Ken Gude, Director of International Justice and Security Program, Center for American Progress

Keynote:
Ambassador Luis CdeBaca, Ambassador-at-Large, Office to Monitor and Combat Trafficking in Persons, Department of State

Moderator:
David Abramowitz, Director of Policy and Government Relations, Humanity United

Panelists:
Ambassador Luis CdeBaca, Ambassador-at-Large, Office to Monitor and Combat Trafficking in Persons, Department of State
Holly Burkhalter, Vice President of Government Relations, International Justice Mission
Neha Misra, Senior Specialist, Migration and Human Trafficking, Solidarity Center
John Norris, Executive Director, Enough

Breakfast will be served at 8:30 a.m.

RSVP

If you are a member of the press and wish to attend this event, please contact Suzi Emmerling at 202-481-8224 or semmerling@americanprogress.org.

###

 

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org