CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

ADVISORY: Discussing “Interesting Times” with New Yorker writer George Packer

Thursday, November 19, 2009, 12:00pm – 1:30pm

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Madeline Meth
Phone: 202.741.6277
Email: mmeth@americanprogress.org

As a writer for The New Yorker magazine, George Packer has captured the big ideas and events of the past decade spanning the September 11 attacks to the election of Barack Obama through the voices of individuals around the world. Packer’s new book, Interesting Times , unites investigative pieces with personal essays and detailed narratives of travels through war zones and failed states.

Join the Center for American Progress for a discussion with Packer moderated by the Center’s Senior Vice President of National Security and International Policy Rudy deLeon. The conversation will include key issues of the day such as the Iraq and Afghanistan wars, the Obama administration’s foreign policy, and current trends in America’s ideological debates, as well as broader themes such as the temptations and dangers of idealism, the moral complexities of war and politics, and the American capacity for self-blinding and self-renewal.

Featured speaker:

George Packer, Staff writer, The New Yorker

Moderated by:

Rudy deLeon, Senior Vice President of National Security and International Policy, Center for American Progress

Lunch will be served at 11:30 a.m.

RSVP

To RSVP, email Suzi Emmerling at semmerling@americanprogress.org.

Location

Center for American Progress
1333 H St. NW, 10th Floor
Washington, DC 20005

Map & Directions

Nearest Metro: Blue/Orange Line to McPherson Square or Red Line to Metro Center

Streaming Video

Click here to watch the event live.

###

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education, poverty)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, health care, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, Legal Progress, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org