CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

ADVISORY: The House at Sugar Beach

Monday, September 29, 2008, 12:00pm to 1:00pm

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Madeline Meth
Phone: 202.741.6277
Email: mmeth@americanprogress.org

Please join the Center for American Progress for a special presentation:

Featured Author: Helene Cooper, author, The House at Sugar Beach; diplomatic correspondent, New York Times

Moderated by: Gayle Smith, Senior Fellow, Center for American Progress; Co-Chair, ENOUGH Project

In a new poignant memoir, New York Times journalist Helene Cooper tells the story of her privileged Liberian childhood cut brutally short by a bloody 1980 coup, her family’s escape and survival, and, twenty-three years later, her return to her native country to find the foster sister her family left behind.

At once a deeply personal account and an examination of a violent and stratified country, The House at Sugar Beach tells of tragedy, forgiveness, and transcendence with unflinching honesty and a survivor’s gentle humor. And at its heart, it is a story of Helene Cooper’s long voyage home.

Please join the Center for American Progress for a lively discussion around this best-selling memoir.

Copies of The House at Sugar Beach will be available for purchase. The author will be available to sign books following the discussion.

Admission is free.

A light lunch will be served at 11:30 a.m.

Center for American Progress 1333 H St. NW, 10th Floor Washington, DC 20005 Map & Directions

Nearest Metro: Blue/Orange Line to McPherson Square or Red Line to Metro Center

RSVP for this Event

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education, poverty)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, health care, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, Legal Progress, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org