CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Statement on the Passing of Geraldine Ferraro

CAP Mourns Death of First Female Candidate for Vice President

SOURCE: AP/File

Geraldine Ferraro is seen in 1984 during her campaign for vice president. She passed away on March 26.

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

The Center for American Progress mourns the passing of Geraldine Ferraro, the first female candidate for the office of vice president on a major party national ticket. She was a trailblazer who paved the way for later female national figures such as Hillary Rodham Clinton, Sarah Palin, and Nancy Pelosi. Her 1984 campaign, in which she sometimes overshadowed her running mate Walter Mondale, put to rest sexist questions about whether women could raise enough money or endure enough scrutiny to compete on the national stage.

She once said she hoped to live long enough to attend the inauguration of the first female president of the United States. Unfortunately, that day did not arrive soon enough for her. But because of her groundbreaking courage and ambition, it is sure to happen in the not-too-distant future. And for that, we all owe her a debt of gratitude.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org