CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Innovating the White House

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Throughout the runup to the 2008 presidential election, both Democratic and Republican candidates have pointed to the nonprofit sector’s vital and growing role in tackling some of our nation’s most serious challenges: education, health care, housing, and other areas of social need. The candidates want to connect with voters by highlighting fresh, new solutions that might bridge the divisions between political parties and provide concrete results to an American voting public increasingly cynical about government’s ability to solve our nation’s most intractable problems.

Download the full article (pdf)

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org