CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Beyond the Beltway: Tax Cuts to Make Work Pay

Interactive Map on Tax Credits in the Recovery and Reinvestment Act

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Beyond the Beltway series: Overview: The Nationwide Allocation of $541 billion | Tax Cuts to Make Work Pay | Helping Those Most in Need | 21st Century Education | Protecting Vital Services | Energy & Infrastructure | Wrap Up: Local Recovery

The House and Senate versions of the Recovery and Reinvestment Act includes spending provisions and tax cuts aimed at reviving our ailing economy. The House version of the Act contains three personal tax measures: Making Work Pay, the Earned Income Tax Credit increase, and Child Tax Credit. The Senate version also includes an adjustment to the Alternative Minimum Tax and tax relief for seniors and veterans. The map below uses analysis from the Institute on Taxation and Economic Policy to show how much tax stimulus will go to people in each state.

This is part of a week-long series that examines the state-level implications of different aspects of the package; the series began with an overview map showing how $541 billion will be allocated to the states.

The methodology can be found here; you can access the supporting data here (xls), or download the house data and senate data as pdfs.

Beyond the Beltway series:

More information on our stimulus plan:

Column: Recovery Plan Offers Needed Change

Infographic: Four Reasons We Can’t Afford Not to Have One

Video: Designing a Stimulus that Will Get the Economy Moving Fast

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org