CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

VFW, Allies Mislead on Pay, Benefits

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Groups like the Military Officers Association of America and the Veterans of Foreign Wars, which oppose the Pentagon’s attempts to rein in rapidly increasing personnel costs, are accusing the Obama administration of balancing the budget on the backs of the men and women who fought in Iraq and Afghanistan. MOAA had its members “storm Capitol Hill” last week to urge legislators to block the Pentagon’s proposed reforms.

But close analysis of the proposals from Defense Secretary Leon Panetta and the Joint Chiefs of Staff reveals that their critics’ arguments are baseless.

Read more here.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org