CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Video: A Russian Perspective on New START

An Interview with Col. Gen. Viktor Yesin

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Last month, I traveled to Moscow and spoke with retired Col. Gen. Viktor Yesin to find out how Russia’s military establishment sees the New START nuclear arms control treaty. Gen. Yesin had a 40-year career working in the Soviet and then Russian Strategic Missile Forces, and in his last job before retiring he had responsibity for choosing which U.S. cities would be targeted in a nuclear attack.

The interview is broken into two parts below. In the first video Yesin talks about how he sees the new agreement as a demonstration of leadership by both presidents that moves us closer to a nuclear-free world.

(part 1: transcript, mp4, YouTube)
(part 2: transcript, mp4,YouTube)

The Obama administration has just sent the treaty to the Senate, which marks the beginning of the ratification process. In the second video Yesin gives his thoughts on criticisms of the treaty being heard in Washington as debate on ratification gears up.

More from CAP on New START:

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org