CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

The U.S.-Turkey Relationship and Armenia

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

CAP Senior Fellow Michael Werz was interviewed by Voice of America on April 2, 2010. The interview dealt with the recent U.S.-Turkish debates after the Armenia resolution was passed by the House Foreign Affairs Committee and with the visit of German chancellor Angela Merkel to Ankara, reinvigorating a Turkish push for full membership in the European Union.

In the interview Werz argues that the reaction of the Turkish government recalling its ambassador from Washington and cancelling a planned visit by Prime Minister Tayyip Erdogan has been harsher than necessary. Both Turkey and the United States have more to lose than to win when the relationship cannot be re-established to meet the regional challenges.

Regarding the recent visits of the German chancellor in Ankara, Werz commented that the Turkish press had seen a “warming” of Angela Merkel toward Turkey that was hardly expected after stinging political exchanges between the two countries before her arrival. Not only has Germany vested economic interest in Turkey with 300 German companies establishing branches in 2009 alone, Werz argued, but even within the German conservative party an influential minority among foreign policy expert urges a review of the stiff opposition against Turkish E.U. membership.

Read more and watch the video here.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org