CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Obama’s European Listening Tour

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

At the 45th Munich conference on security policy in February, vice-president Joe Biden reminded America’s European allies that the United States is ready to listen again. Referring to President Barack Obama‘s strategic review of US policy in Afghanistan and Pakistan in advance of Nato‘s 60th anniversary summit, Biden noted: "We seek ideas and input from you and all of our partners."

This is welcome news. The US hurt its leadership position over the past several years by refusing to hear what the world was telling us. But in order for the transatlantic security relationship to be one between full partners again, the US will need some help.

Read more here.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org