CAP en EspaƱol
Small CAP Banner

America’s Post-Musharraf Policy

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

A pair of suicide bombings earlier today that killed at least 100 people at a government arms factory near Pakistan’s capital Islamabad is the latest in a series of deadly attacks that have been on the rise in Pakistan. Tehrik-e-Taliban, Pakistan’s Taliban, claimed responsibility for the attack and promised that more would come if the Pakistani military continued its recent offensive against militant groups in the Bajaur Agency, one of the tribal areas bordering Afghanistan. During the past year, violence between Pakistan’s security forces and the Taliban has increased, as have the number of terrorist attacks like the one today.

Read more here.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org