CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Slideshow: The Parliamentary Election in Pakistan

A First-Hand Look at the Process

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Brian Katulis and Caroline Wadhams went to Pakistan last week as part of an election observation delegation organized by Democracy International, which sent observers to Peshawar, Islamabad, Lahore, Multan, and Karachi. These efforts complemented the work done by Pakistani election monitors, including the Free and Fair Election Network, a coalition of Pakistani civil society organizations that fielded nearly 20,000 election monitors.

The photos below were taken by Brian Katulis and Evan B. Smith and depict some of their experiences as election monitors. Read more about their trip here.


To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org