CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Young Muslim American Voices: Video: Muslim Americans and the Quest for a More Perfect Union

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

(transcript, mp4, YouTube)

Telling the story of Muslims in America is more important than ever. Muslims have been part of this country since before we were a nation, have fought in all our wars, and made essential contributions to our national well-being. One of the strongest rebuttals to anti-Muslim hate speech and crimes—which are currently on the rise—is to raise public awareness of the real story of American Muslims.

“Muslim Americans and the Quest for a More Perfect Union” tells that story. The video captures the history and diversity of Muslim-American communities, highlights their participation in civic life, and looks toward a future where celebrating the worth and religious liberty of every American is made real in everyday life.

The video is part of the Young Muslim American Voices project of the Faith and Progressive Policy Initiative at the Center for American Progress. It was produced by Jamiah Adams.

More from CAP:

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

 

This is part of a special series: Young Muslim American Voices

For more from this series, click here