CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Forgive Us Our Debts?

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Liberty in America is often equated with economic freedom. Constrain one’s freedom to make a deal — even a bad deal — some argue, and liberty is diminished. In an era when rampant personal debt has led to widespread ruin, the efficacy of this view of liberty is thrown into sharp relief. Should some people who have made bad deals be forgiven their debts, or are we all better off if instead they face up to foreclosure and the dire circumstances that come with it?

Read the rest of the article here.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org