CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Beyond Multiculturalism

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Michael Werz gave the keynote address at an event on multiculturalism at the House of World Cultures on June 3, 2009. In his keynote Werz argues that a democratic society requires the daily contribution of everyone―and that dealing with diversity is the litmus test of any democracy.

According to Werz there is a great transatlantic difference between U.S. and European democracies when it comes to diversity: The United States is a society permeable for as many different experiences as possible and people have learned to bear with diversity. But in Europe the contaminating identification of descent and destiny is still very much alive.

Read more here.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org