CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

President Obama Sparks Momentum with His Announcement on Marriage Equality

A Look at Black Voters' Shift on the Issue

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

African American voters are rapidly evolving on marriage equality, and it appears that President Barack Obama’s recent endorsement sparked the momentum. Since the president voiced his support, scores of black leaders, including the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People, have also come out in support of same-sex marriage. Their leadership has in turn inspired many black voters, who have also been evolving, to stand firmly on the side of equality.

Recent polling shows a significant uptick in support for marriage equality among black voters, now solidly above 55 percent. A dramatic shift also occurred in Maryland, which has a significant black voting population and is expected to see marriage equality on the ballot in November. Black voters in the state now overwhelmingly say they would vote to uphold the recent law allowing same-sex marriage. If passed, Maryland will be the first state to uphold marriage equality by a referendum.

These numbers tell us that same-sex marriage is no longer a divisive issue in black and gay communities. Instead, we are seeing fresh dialogue that unites us around our common humanity. The dialogue also gives visibility to black gay and transgender Americans, who are often overlooked in our society.

The infographic below highlights black voters’ shift on marriage equality.

infographic: black voters evolve on marriage equality

See also:

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org