CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

The African American Electorate

Black American Voters as a Demographic in the United States

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Download this fact sheet (pdf)

Black Americans are living, working, and voting across the nation in record numbers and fascinating patterns. The African American electorate has greatly expanded over the last decade to include a greater breadth of politically and geographically diverse native-born and black immigrant voters.

Below, a few charts detail where black American voters stand as a politicized demographic in the United States.

Chart 1

Chart 2

Chart 3

Chart 4

Download this fact sheet (pdf)

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org