CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Infographic: The Growth of Asian American and Pacific Islander Communities

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Asian American and Pacific Islander communities will more than double their demographic numbers in the next 40 years by an increase of 150 percent, according to Census estimates. In the last 10 years these communities have jump-started this growth by soaring 43.3 percent—more than any other racial group. Consequently, growth in the Asian American and Pacific Islander electorates has also risen. To meet these constituents needs, responsive, equitable policies are increasingly necessary to best represent the multitude of Asian and Pacific Islander-descended communities.

Scan the maps below to see the states where Asian American and Pacific Islander communities have already experienced marked growth in the 21st century.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org