CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Public Opinion

Rally

Building an All-In Nation

book_alt2 icon Report Americans are open minded about our society’s changing demographics and believe, on the whole, that there are more benefits to the nation from rising diversity than costs.

By Ruy Teixeira and John Halpin, with Matt Barreto and Adrian Pantoja | Tuesday, October 22, 2013

Acknowledging Our Mistakes in Iraq Would Prevent Us from Repeating Them

We need to realize the errors of our ways from the Iraq invasion instead of brushing the topic under a rug, or else we may just find ourselves in the very same position a few years down the road.

By Eric Alterman | Thursday, March 28, 2013

Students join interfaith candlelight prayer vigil to end gun violence

What the Public Really Thinks About Guns

article icon Issue Brief There is clear consensus around a variety of common-sense gun laws, as well as consensus around what limits are unacceptable. Congress is fighting over questions that are simply not controversial.

By Margie Omero, Michael Bocian, Bob Carpenter, Linda DiVall, Diane T. Feldman, Celinda Lake, Douglas E. Schoen, Al Quinlan, Joshua Ulibarri, and Arkadi Gerney | Wednesday, March 27, 2013

Immigrant rights march

Sharing Love and Ideas on Valentine’s Day

Polls show that Americans as a whole agree more than disagree on controversial issues—and on this day of love, let’s embrace this emerging trend.

By Morriah Kaplan | Thursday, February 14, 2013

Public’s Dos and Don’ts on Handling the Fiscal Showdown

The public has clear opinions on its priorities for the fiscal showdown and sequestration.

By Ruy Teixeira | Monday, December 17, 2012

Public Supports Increased Spending in Key Areas

Conservatives may be allergic to spending on the unemployed and our social needs but the public clearly is not.

By Ruy Teixeira | Monday, December 10, 2012

2 Things the Public Wants Policymakers to Remember

Americans think it’s time to raise taxes on the rich, and they don’t want to raise the Medicare eligibility age.

By Ruy Teixeira | Monday, December 3, 2012

Public Turns Against Repeal of Obamacare

Americans want the Affordable Care Act to continue as law.

By Ruy Teixeira | Monday, November 19, 2012

What Do the Voters Want?

A recent post-election poll shows what American voters believe about our nation’s policy priorities and our road forward.

By Ruy Teixeira | Tuesday, November 13, 2012

Public Rejects ‘You’re on Your Own’ Economics

Most Americans think government help for the poor is a good thing.

By Ruy Teixeira | Monday, November 5, 2012

Public Supports Raising Taxes on the Rich, Opposes Repealing Obamacare

Most Americans don’t support conservatives’ sacred causes of not raising taxes on the rich and doing away with the Affordable Care Act.

By Ruy Teixeira | Tuesday, October 30, 2012

Public Wants to Give Legalization a Chance

Conservatives may be fixated on deporting unauthorized immigrants but the public clearly isn’t.

By Ruy Teixeira | Monday, October 15, 2012

The Public Blames Bush and Favoring the Wealthy for Our Economic Problems

Americans don’t think that President Obama and overregulation of the free market are to blame for our economic troubles.

By Ruy Teixeira | Tuesday, October 9, 2012

Just Say No to Voucherizing Medicare

The idea of transforming Medicare into a voucher program started out unpopular, and is just becoming less so.

By Ruy Teixeira | Monday, October 1, 2012

Are We Past the Tipping Point on Support for Marriage Equality?

Majority support for marriage equality is now the norm among the American public.

By Ruy Teixeira | Monday, September 24, 2012

More on Public Opinion