CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Public Opinion Snapshot: 2 Things the Public Wants Policymakers to Remember

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Everybody’s talking about the current fiscal showdown and the deals that might be cut to avoid it. There are at least two things the public wants policymakers to remember in all this frenetic bargaining.

The first: It’s time to raise taxes on the rich. In the latest ABC News/Washington Post poll, the public supported the idea of raising taxes on those with annual incomes of more than $250,000 by a thumping 60 percent to 37 percent majority.

The second: Raising the Medicare eligibility age is a no-no. In the same poll, the public rejected the idea of raising the Medicare eligibility age from 65 to 67 by an overwhelming 67 percent to 30 percent margin.

The public’s sentiments couldn’t be clearer. Let’s hope that despite the haste to cut a deal, policymakers give these sentiments the careful consideration they deserve.

Ruy Teixeira is a Senior Fellow at the Center for American Progress.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

 

This is part of a regular column: Public Opinion Snapshot

For more from the same column, click here