CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Public Opinion Snapshot: Don’t Repeal or Cut Funding for Obamacare

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

The latest Kaiser Health Tracking poll confirms that the public is not interested in repealing the Affordable Care Act, whatever its misgivings about the law. In fact, a plurality (47 percent) say they want to either see the law expanded (27 percent) or kept as is (20 percent), compared to 39 percent who want the law either repealed and replaced with a Republican alternative (18 percent) or repealed altogether (21 percent).

public wants to keep obamacare or expand it

And the public is strongly opposed to conservatives’ pet idea of cutting off funding for implementing the law if they are not successful in repealing it. Just 32 percent of those polled support such a move versus 58 percent who are opposed.

public opposes cutting off funding for obamacare

Conservatives may dream of repealing or crippling Obamacare. But the public is not with them.

Ruy Teixeira is a Senior Fellow at the Center for American Progress. To learn more about his public opinion analysis, go to the Media and Progressive Values page and the Progressive Studies program page of our website.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

 

This is part of a regular column: Public Opinion Snapshot

For more from the same column, click here