CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Public Opinion Snapshot: Public Wants the Government to Do More to Help the Economy

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

The standard conservative line on the economy right now is that government has done way too much. Time to cut taxes and drastically reduce government’s role, they say. The public isn’t so sure.

In a new CBS/New York Times poll, the public, by an overwhelming 67-15 percent, said the government should be doing more, not less, to help middle-class Americans.

public wants the government to do more on the economy

One way to do this, of course, is to promote economic growth. Here also the public departs from conservative nostrums. In the same poll, just 37 percent thought the way to grow the economy was by cutting taxes for individuals and businesses and paying for those cuts by reducing spending on government services and programs. In contrast, 56 percent endorsed spending more on education and the nation’s infrastructure as the best way to promote growth, and paying for that by raising taxes on wealthy individuals and businesses.

public wants to invest in education and infrastucture

The public does think the government should do more to help the economy and certainly believes the wealthy should chip in to support these activities. Conservatives are entitled to their own point of view. But they shouldn’t pretend the public is with them in their sacred quest to dismantle government.

Ruy Teixeira is a Senior Fellow at the Center for American Progress. To learn more about his public opinion analysis, go to the Media and Progressive Values page and the Progressive Studies program page of our website.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

 

This is part of a regular column: Public Opinion Snapshot

For more from the same column, click here