CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Public Opinion Snapshot: Jobs vs. the Deficit

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

The conservative mantra these days is that no action can be taken to help create jobs if it would increase the deficit. They believe the public is behind them because concern is running high about the deficit. But that doesn’t necessarily mean concern about the deficit is running higher than concern about unemployment. In fact, questions that directly ask the public whether unemployment or the deficit should be the higher priority tend to return lopsided majorities saying unemployment should be the higher priority.

The public, for example, said by 64-30 in a mid-July Quinnipiac poll that reducing unemployment is more important than reducing the federal budget deficit.

Similarly, in a Bloomberg poll conducted just prior to the Quinnipiac poll, an even more overwhelming 70-28 majority said reducing the unemployment rate should be a higher priority than reducing the budget deficit.

So policymakers shouldn’t be stampeded by conservatives’ single-minded focus on the deficit. That may be their obsession, but it is not the public’s obsession. The public has other stronger priorities that policymakers ignore at their peril.

Ruy Teixeira is a Senior Fellow at the Center for American Progress. To learn more about his public opinion analysis go to the Media and Progressive Values page and the Progressive Studies program page of our website.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

 

This is part of a regular column: Public Opinion Snapshot

For more from the same column, click here