CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Public Opinion Snapshot: Congress’s Work Is Not Done

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Congress finally passed the financial regulation bill last Thursday. That’s a major achievement, and the public is sure to approve. In the latest CBS poll, 57 percent thought it was time to increase regulations on banks and financial institutions, compared to just 35 percent who disagreed.

But it’s no time for Congress to rest on its laurels. The problem to attack now is the economy and the stubbornly high unemployment that is causing so much suffering. One great way to start is by extending unemployment benefits for those out of work, which is something conservatives just can’t bring themselves to support. But the public feels differently. By 52-39 in the same poll, they say Congress should extend these benefits even if that means increasing the budget deficit.

Time for policymakers to get back to work.

Ruy Teixeira is a Senior Fellow at the Center for American Progress. To learn more about his public opinion analysis go to the Media and Progressive Values page and the Progressive Studies program page of our website.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

 

This is part of a regular column: Public Opinion Snapshot

For more from the same column, click here