CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Public Opinion Snapshot: Public Says It’s OK to Meet with Iran

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

There’s been considerable debate about whether it’s appropriate for the president of the United States to meet with the president of Iran. In all the back-and-forth about this issue, however, the public’s views are rarely, if ever, mentioned. That’s a shame, since the public has a definite view on the matter.

When asked in a May 19-21 Gallup poll whether it was a good or bad idea for the U.S. president to meet with Iran’s president, the public thought it was a good idea by 20 percentage points—59 percent to 39 percent.

 

 

That should give the saber-rattlers pause. The public is apparently not horrified by the idea that the United States should try to talk directly with a hostile power like Iran. And here’s something that should give them even more pause: The public generally does not support relying on military force to solve our problems with Iran.

The last time Gallup asked the public whether the United States should take military action against Iran or rely mainly on economic and diplomatic efforts to get Iran to shut down its nuclear program, the economic/diplomatic approach was preferred over military force by a whopping 73 percent to 18 percent margin.

 

 

Those saber-rattlers should give it a rest. The public just isn’t with them on this one. Instead, the public wants to give diplomacy a chance. And after the debacle in Iraq, who can blame them?

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

 

This is part of a regular column: Public Opinion Snapshot

For more from the same column, click here