CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Public Opinion: Public’s Antiwar Stance on Iran Likely to Strengthen

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

The release of the new National Intelligence Estimate this week put a damper on the plans of those conservatives who have been urging military action against Iran. The NIE found that Iran had stopped work on a suspected nuclear weapons program over four years ago and is still a decade away from being able to adapt their current nuclear energy program for military purposes.

The American public has maintained a strongly antiwar stance when it comes to Iran in recent months, and this new information will likely only strengthen this sentiment, despite the Bush administration’s saber-rattling. Gallup found in an early November poll, for example, that the public, by 73 percent to 18 percent, prefers economic and diplomatic efforts over military action against Iran.

 

A mid-October CNN poll echoed this sentiment, with 68 percent of the public flatly stating that it would oppose military action against Iran if the U.S. government decided to take such action and only 29 percent approving of such action.

 

 

 

The public, still in the midst of the Iraq debacle, is clearly in no mood to repeat the mistake with yet another country where the hype about weapons of mass destruction is not matched by reality. And these antiwar sentiments should soar even higher in the wake of the Iran NIE.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org