CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Interactive Map: A New Progressive America

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Two reports from the Center examine the new progressive era now sweeping the country—Senior Fellow Ruy Teixeira’s “New Progressive America” and Senior Fellow John Halpin’s “The State of American Political Ideology, 2009.” Teixeira and Halpin map in detail the changing face of American political thought over the past several decades.

The interactive maps below develop in detail the findings of Teixeira’s report. Click through the maps to see how progressive or conservative your country, your state, and your county are.

Alternative content

Get Adobe Flash player


 

To see how your own political leanings map to those of your fellow Americans, take the interactive poll upon which Halpin’s report on the state of American political ideology was based.

More on the New Progressive America from CAP:

Report: New Progressive America, by Ruy Teixeira

Report: The State of American Political Ideology, 2009, by John Halpin

Interactive Quiz: How Progressive Are You?

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org