CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

What Makes History Happen?

The first of Fortune's three-part series on the nature of power.

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Anyone who’s spent time among the mighty – and the wannabes – from the White House to the corridors of the Fortune 500 knows that larger forces than mere Presidents shape the fate of nations. Even the shrewdest political leaders and seemingly omniscient CEOs are the playthings of external factors, though it’s not always clear which factor has the most stroke. Three big questions offer the beginning of wisdom here and also serve as a handy Rorschach test. What’s your take on power? Let’s find out.

Read more here.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org