CAP en EspaƱol
Small CAP Banner

Interactive Map: How Cuts in the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program Affect Your State

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

A new report from the Center for American Progress looks at the economic consequences of cutting the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program as the House leadership budget proposal for fiscal year 2013 will likely propose. The map below looks at the state-by-state impact of a potental 10 percent reduction in spending for the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program through harsh measures to reduce eligibility. We estimate that these measures would result in 96,000 jobs lost, take millions of meals off the table, and undermine the stability of tens of thousands of American families.

This map is updated to reflect a correction that recalculates the number of meals affected by a 10 percent cut to the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program.

 

Source: Meals cut estimated by CAP based on the average cost of the U.S. Department of Agriculture Thrifty Food Plan for a family of four, which is $1.62 per meal. The per meal amount is multiplied by the value of a 10 percent cut in the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program. Estimated job loss from Jeffrey Thompson and Heidi Garrett-Peltier, "The Economic Consequences of Cutting the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program."

Donna Cooper is a Senior Fellow at the Center for American Progress.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org