CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Short-Term Labor Solutions Can Help Persistent Poverty Among Minorities

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Nearly 40 million Americans were living in poverty in 2008. That’s 13.2 percent of the country. Including those who struggle to make ends meet at twice the poverty level brings the count up to almost one in three Americans. It’s an issue that affects Americans from every demographic group. Yet we will not be able to eliminate poverty in America without serious consideration of the unique economic challenges facing minorities, who are more likely to be poor and have been disproportionately harmed by the economic downturn.

Read more here.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org