CAP en EspaƱol
Small CAP Banner

Election Reform: The Time Is Now

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

The Urgent Need To Improve Our Election Infrastructure

Read the summary (PDF)

Read the full report (PDF)

Five years after the unprecedented crisis of the 2000 presidential election—and one year after an election that barely escaped the same fate—our election system remains imperiled. Unless urgent reforms are adopted at the state level, the problems in our election infrastructure could very well lead to significant national consequences in the 2006 midterm elections.

Unfortunately, national attention to the issue of election reform has been sorely lacking. Despite the passage of the Help America Vote Act (HAVA) in 2002, public opinion polls show that Americans’ confidence in our election system is at an historic low. Policymakers and the media often focus on the issue only in the days preceding major elections—months after state and county election administrators have made the critical decisions that will determine how the system will perform on Election Day.

A Center for American Progress analysis of recent electoral research finds that one year before the 2006 midterm elections, more than 90 million registered voters are exposed to serious electoral deficiencies, including low-quality voter registration databases, inadequate safeguards for purging voters from the rolls, and insufficiently tested voting machines. Specifically, our analysis has found:

Read the summary (PDF)

Read the full report(PDF)

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org