CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Panel Misses the Point

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

While there are some suggestions that make sense in the report of the independent panel that was established to evaluate the QDR, the panel failed in what should have been its biggest task, namely, how to bring the escalating baseline defense budget under control, and thus enable the defense budget to contribute its fair share to reducing our nearly $1.5 trillion budget deficit. Rather the panel proposed establishing another outside group to examine the issue of rapidly growing personnel costs and then recommended increasing the size of the overall budget to counter growing Chinese influence.

Read more here.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org