CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Paying a Premium

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Defense Secretary Robert Gates has correctly noted that the rising cost of military personnel and the Pentagon’s health care system make it difficult for the military to fund its necessary investments in a fiscally constrained environment. While Gates is correct in placing much of the blame on Congress for giving higher pay raises than requested and refusing to raise Tricare health care premiums, he presents a distorted picture. The rising cost of military personnel and health care is also attributable to the actions taken, and in some cases not taken, by the executive branch.

Read more here.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org