CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Giving Thanks

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Families across the country will come together this week to give thanks for the many blessings we enjoy as Americans. As we gather, we are honored to give thanks to the nearly 2.2 million soldiers, sailors, airmen, Marines, and Coast Guardsmen serving our country on active duty as well as in the Guard and reserves at home and around the world.

We are especially grateful to the over 200,000 brave men and women serving our country on the front lines in Iraq and Afghanistan. At the Center for American Progress, we wish to express our gratitude to them and the families they have left behind for their continued sacrifice on our behalf. As we near the holiday season, we give thanks for their infinite resolve, selflessness, and courage.

Below is a list of organizations dedicated to helping the men and women of our armed forces and their families.

Veterans of Foreign Wars: http://www.vfw.org
The American Legion: http://www.legion.org/index.php
The Navy League: http://www.navyleague.org/
Air Force Association: http://www.afa.org/
Association for the U.S. Army: http://www.afa.org/
Mercy Corps: http://www.mercycorps.org/iraq/
Hero Miles: http://www.heromiles.org/

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org