CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Map: Our Overstretched National Guard

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

The Army National Guard’s 16 Enhanced Brigades are supposed to be able to deploy rapidly—fully manned and equipped—to respond to terrorist attacks or natural disasters on U.S. soil.

But the Guard and its equipment have been stretched so thin by overseas deployments that it is unprepared to respond to crises at home, such as terrorist attacks and natural disasters.

Click below to explore an interactive map that illustrates the situation based on information in the recent Center for American Progress report “Caught Off Guard: The Link Between Our National Security and Our National Guard.”

Yellow flags on this map mark Enhanced Brigades that are currently in Iraq or Afghanistan. Green flags denote brigades that are bound for a second deployment to Iraq. Blue flags mark brigades that have deployed overseas in the past and now find themselves unprepared to respond to possible emergencies at home, examples of which are marked with red triangles.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org