CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Obamacare and the LGBT Community

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

See also: How the Affordable Care Act Helps the LGBT Community by Andrew Cray and Kellan Baker

The changes to America’s health-insurance system initiated by the passage of the Affordable Care Act in 2010 will touch the lives of all Americans, including those who have been denied the care they need. For the lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender, or LGBT, community in particular, these reforms have the potential to dramatically improve access to insurance coverage and health care. In these video presentations, CAP’s Kellan Baker and Andrew Cray explain the impact of health reform for the LGBT community and how LGBT community members and organizations can get involved in implementing the law.

Part 1: Kellan Baker on what’s in Obamacare

mp4

Part 2: Andrew Cray on the Marketplaces

mp4

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org