CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

A Critical Issue: Hospital Visitation Rights

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

“He collapsed.”

“Get to the emergency room immediately.”

“He’s receiving IV and oxygen.”

These three fragments keep playing on a loop in my head. They were part of a longer phone conversation I had with a medical attendant earlier this month at a marathon in Frederick. I’m sure the attendant said other things to me, but those three sentences are what have stuck.

My husband, Trevor, was running in the marathon. It was his first, and he had trained hard since the previous November for this day. Unfortunately, he trained in this year’s cold and snowy winter, so his body was simply not ready for the 90 degree temperatures, strong sun and high humidity that hung over the 26.2 mile course.

The medical attendant had very little information for me, so I assumed the worst. But as I raced to the ER, I was not just worried about Trevor’s well-being — although that was my paramount concern. In the back of my head, I was distracted by another worry: how the hospital staff would treat us, since we’re a same-sex married couple.

Read more here.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org