CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Reforming Federal Contracting to Promote Higher Labor Standards

Testimony of John D. Podesta Before the Office of Management and Budget

SOURCE: AP/Lenny Ignelzi

Defense contractor Titan Corporation is seen in San Diego, CA. Reforming federal contracting to promote higher labor standards and improve accountability would not only be the right thing to do for workers and taxpayers, but is also doable within the existing contracting framework.

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

CAP Action’s John Podesta testifies before the Office of Management and Budget. Read the full testimony.

As previous panelists have made clear, the federal contracting process needs to be reformed to limit waste and ensure the government’s interests are upheld. The Center for American Progress and its sister organization The Center for American Progress Action Fund have long advocated the kinds of reforms President Barack Obama has indicated he wants to pursue, including improved transparency and oversight, increased competition, and preventing the contracting out of essential government functions—something I had considerable experience with during the Clinton administration, particularly with respect to employees making benefit decisions.

These changes are essential, but I want to focus on a less well-known but equally critical set of reforms. These reforms will improve the quality of the jobs that are created when the federal government contracts out.

Read the full testimony. (CAP Action)

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org