CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Making Contracting Work

Promoting Good Workplace Practices in the Federal Procurement Process

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

President Barack Obama announced on March 4th that he plans to overhaul the federal contracting process. This much-needed modernization provides the federal government with a significant opportunity to generate good jobs and help rebuild the middle class.

The federal government creates millions of jobs each year through the large sums of money it spends on purchasing goods and services. Yet these jobs are often substandard. Many pay very low wages—often below the poverty level—and involve poor working conditions where labor law violations are all too common.

Reforming contracting to help create quality jobs will require the federal government to increase transparency in the procurement process, better enforce labor standards, perform rigorous responsibility screening on prospective bidders, reduce its use of outside contractors, and promote improved job standards. Each of these components is key, but this report focuses exclusively on one aspect of the agenda: how to promote higher job standards by evaluating proposals based in part on the pay and benefits that contractors provide their workers.

Read more here.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org