CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Infographic: Remember Who Voted for the DREAM Act!

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Last week President Barack Obama announced a new immigration policy that will allow some undocumented students to receive work authorization and avoid deportation. Recent conservative commentators have argued, however, that President Obama should have passed the DREAM Act when his party controlled the House and Senate. But the infographic below shows those commentators are rewriting history: The bill was brought up for a vote in 2010 but conservatives filibustered it in the Senate.

Here is who voted for and against the DREAM Act in 2010 in the House and in the Senate.

DREAM Act voting

See also:

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org