CAP en EspaƱol
Small CAP Banner

Effective National Mortgage Servicing Standards Are Essential

Statement Before the Senate Committee on Banking, Housing and Urban Affairs

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

SOURCE: Center for American Progress

CAP Senior Fellow Peter Swire speaks before the Senate Committee on Banking, Housing and Urban Affairs. Read the statement (CAP Action).

Thank you Chairman Johnson and to other distinguished members of the committee. Thank you for inviting me to participate in this hearing on national mortgage servicing standards.

As you are aware, I previously committed to speak in Oregon today, and I thank the committee and its staff for the great flexibility of having me testify online today. I believe that using these online technologies can continue to open up Congress and our political process to participation by the American people.

My testimony today draws on two previously published items, which I have provided to the committee. The first is a report on mortgage servicing that I published in January of this year. The second is an article in the Los Angeles Times from March, which describes some of my personal experiences as a homeowner with the mortgage servicing industry.

CAP Senior Fellow Peter Swire speaks before the Senate Committee on Banking, Housing and Urban Affairs. Read the statement (CAP Action).

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org